Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is a 2016 British fantasy film directed by David Yates and distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures. A spin-off prequel of the Harry Potter film series, the film was produced and written by J. K. Rowling (in her screenwriting debut), inspired by her book of the same name. The film stars Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander with Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol, Ezra Miller, Samantha Morton, Jon Voight, Carmen Ejogo, Ron Perlman and Colin Farrell in supporting roles. It is the first instalment in the Fantastic Beasts franchise, and the ninth in J. K. Rowling's Wizarding World. Principal photography began at Warner Bros. Studios, Leavesden on 17 August 2015. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them premiered in New York City on 10 November 2016 and was released worldwide on 18 November 2016 in 3D, IMAX 4K Laser and other large format theatres. It received generally positive reviews from critics and has grossed $261 million worldwide.

Fantastic Beasts and
Where to Find Them
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them poster.png
Theatrical release poster
Directed by David Yates
Produced by
  • David Heyman
  • J. K. Rowling
  • Steve Kloves
  • Lionel Wigram
Written by J. K. Rowling
Based on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
by J. K. Rowling
  • Eddie Redmayne
  • Katherine Waterston
  • Dan Fogler
  • Alison Sudol
  • Ezra Miller
  • Samantha Morton
  • Jon Voight
  • Carmen Ejogo
  • Ron Perlman
  • Colin Farrell
Music by James Newton Howard
Cinematography Philippe Rousselot
Edited by Mark Day
Heyday Films
Distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures
Release dates
  • 10 November 2016 (2016-11-10) (New York City)
  • 18 November 2016 (2016-11-18) (United Kingdom)
Running time
133 minutes[1]
Country United Kingdom
Language English
Budget $180 million[2]
Box office $261.2 million[3]